Skip to content
June 11, 2011 / jeffmedic

LANREMT 2011 Day 2

Today has been a lot of fun. I woke up pretty early this morning and decided top try the hotel restaurant for breakfast. The food was good but I am still not used to how much everything costs here. Then I helped at the registration both for awhile. I enjoyed getting to see how events like this are run.

The first presentation I went to was by Dr. Susan Nelson. She spoke about the new LaPOST legislation that will going into effect soon. This legislation will create a single DNR form that will transfer in between all healthcare providers in the state. This is a really big deal. Now we will have an easily recognizable form that all healthcare providers can honor. Having recently lost my father to cancer, I can see how this will be a boon to those with life limiting illnesses. It will also make it easier for medics to deal with some of the end of life situations we get called in to.

THe next workshop was about Communications in Emergencies with Heather Hilliard. I thought that this was going to be about communicating with patients but it ended up being more about dealing with the media. Ms. Hilliard obviously has a lot of experience with media relations and gave some excellent advice. Initially I was disappointed about the topic but I ended up enjoying the presentation.

The last workshop of the day was by Steve Phillipe and Alan Lambert from the Bureau of EMS. The gave us a whirlwind tour of what has been going on at the state level. A lot of good things are happening in Louisiana EMS. The next few years should bring many positive changes.

I guess I’ve played enough on my $15 per day internet connection. More from the conference to follow.

Leave a Reply

